An iconic view of the Port Douglas coastline includes the eye-catching Sugar Wharf, originally built in 1877 as a port to service the Hodgkinson Goldfield in the Tablelands. Following the gold rush and prior to the construction of railway lines to Cairns, it functioned to service the mining and sugar industries up until the late 1950's. Port Douglas itself became a fishing and holiday town until the 1980's when tourism became the major drawcard. The Sugar Wharf was commonly known as the 'Shipwreck Museum', a museum that housed a large collection of shipwreck relics including Captain Cook's 'Endeavour' up until the early 2000's. Today, the Sugar Wharf is primarily used as an venue for weddings and other events as well as a local fishing spot.
2 Dixie St, Port Douglas QLD 4877, Australia
Added to list